Triton 5k

It’s that time of year again… UC San Diego’s Triton 5K registration has just opened for 2016, and I will begin to start bugging my friends to crawl it with me on Sunday, April 10.

It’s not like I like running… I actually hate running. To me, it’s one of the most depressing forms of exercise that exists. Here are my race results from the past 3 years: 

  • 2013: 29:14.0 (average 9:26 per mile) 779th place
  • 2014: 29:46.8 (average 9:35 per mile) 1015th place
  • 2015: 30:19 (average 9:45 per mile) 1074th place

For someone who doesn’t exercise regularly, I’m content. It was pretty disappointing to see that my time for last year was the worst though; immediately after crossing the finish line in 2015, I felt that my time had improved because I jogged the entire way without stopping to walk. (Then again, Joseph said my jogging was his walking pace…)

IMG_2926
Triton 5K shirts from my freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior years

Despite my distaste for running, I run in support of student scholarships. It is my way of showing appreciation to all scholarship donors, paying it forward, and physically challenging myself.

I figure, if I can’t even jog/limp 3.1 miles around the campus for 30 minutes, how can I expect others to do the same or to donate? Besides, it’s not that bad — it’s a pretty great experience. The group’s energy at the start of the race is especially motivating and running into sweaty friends at the festival afterward is always cheery. (Don’t forget to bring your 21+ ID for the beer garden.)

For those looking for a way to force yourself to get more steps in, signing up for the 5K is a great way to achieve that cliché resolution: 5k.ucsd.edu

Set a goal with me (mine is sub-30). Any and all tips/advice/motivation for running are welcome.

Published by

christinaluu93

UC San Diego grad with a double major in Economics and International Business. I was born and raised in sunny San Diego, but I love to travel (and eat) around the world.

3 thoughts on “Triton 5k”

Leave a Reply

