Couch to 5k in 3 Weeks

I haven’t been blogging much lately because I’ve spent the evenings of my last few weeks training for the Triton 5k.

As I mentioned in my last post about the Triton 5k, my race times for previous years were:

  • 2013: 29:14.0 (average 9:26 per mile)
  • 2014: 29:46.8 (average 9:35 per mile)
  • 2015: 30:19 (average 9:45 per mile)

This year, my time was:

28:21 (average 9:09 per mile) – PR! Yay!

If you would like to see your time (or your friends’ times!) for the Triton 5k, they are available at Gemini Timing, here.

My goal for this year was to beat my fastest time (29:14) and I accomplished that by almost a whole minute. I’m very happy about my time, and–most importantly–happy that I can stop training for the 5k!  (Now, I have more motivation to workout, but with exercises that I find more enjoyable than running.)

From couch to 5k in 3 weeks:

img_6280

Now, I’m not completely un-fit, but I don’t exercise (run or gym) often aside from longboarding short distances and the occasional hike.

Many of my friends got faster times than I did, without even training via running before race day – and I’m super happy for them.

But considering the fact that I literally went from my Breaking Bad couch watching self to beating my fastest time, I think a couple of celebratory beers are in order.

I didn’t follow any specific training plan – I mostly tried to get in at least 30 minutes of running or treadmill/elliptical/bike every day that I could fit it into my schedule comfortably and safely.

A struggle for me was not having a watch to measure distance/time while I ran. Working out at the gym was nice because I could keep track of these metrics, but I also disliked the monotony of the treadmill. This is why I preferred running the actual Triton 5k route around UC San Diego’s campus, and did this for 6 of my training days.

This is what my training schedule ended up being:

  • Week 1: Run, Run, Rest, Elliptical, Bike, Elliptical

  • Week 2: Rest, Treadmill, Run, Rest, Run, Rest, Rest

  • Week 3: Hike, Rest, Run, Run, Run, Run, Rest

  • RACE DAY

13 days of exercise crammed into the 3 weeks before the 5k…

The first day, I ran 2.7-ish miles and got a bad foot cramp. All the training plans say not to start running too much, too fast – so, of course, that’s what I did.

Big shout out to Motion City Soundtrack’s Panic Stations albums for getting me through training and the 5k. Although, I did lose one of my earbud gummies right before the race began. Sigh.

Training/race tips based off of my struggles:

  • Don’t wear earphones with the gummy tips that can fall off.
  • Don’t keep prolonging exercise – by the time evening comes, it may be too dark to run outside and the gym may be closed or crowded.
  • Figure out which socks, shoes, pants, UNDERWEAR, etc. are most comfortable to exercise with and make sure they’re clean on race day!
  • Find a music playlist or album to run with
    • Condition yourself to run faster when you hear a certain part of a song
  • Do other strength exercises in addition to running (squat jumps, lunges, planks, pushups, etc)
    • If you realize it’s too late to go out and run, at least you can do these at home!

 

12983291_10156701041520214_929907606434373023_o
Chancellor Khosla with UC San Diego Chancellor’s Scholars

 

12977259_10156701041720214_3014452466203210397_o
Chancellor Khosla with Scholars Society Triton 5K runners

 

Lastly, THANK YOU to everyone who participated, volunteered or donated to support the Triton 5k and undergraduate scholarships!

Published by

christinaluu93

UC San Diego grad with a double major in Economics and International Business. I was born and raised in sunny San Diego, but I love to travel (and eat) around the world.

6 thoughts on “Couch to 5k in 3 Weeks”

  1. This is awesome. I need to get off my butt and go workout, and eat better and this was inspiring & it makes me want to make a playlist of workout songs and buy new workout sneakers and run.

    Like

    1. You should do it! Maybe you can sign up for a color run/mud run/other themed run. And if you’re going to buy new sneakers, you should do it in the evening or after exercising because your feet swell when you run !

      Like

Leave a Reply

