Work-Life-Blog Balance

April 10 – June 10th

The blog has officially been neglected for two months now… However, it’s certainly not been for a lack of potential substance. I almost see it as a good thing that I haven’t found the time (all right, I haven’t been able to find the motivation) to update.

It’s because my schedule has been so crazy packed with events of all sorts crammed into the weekends and the evenings after work.

I’m also obsessive compulsive about doing things chronologically (such as studying for exams in the same order they were covered in class – even if that means harder content is rushed at the end, or uploading photos from places I’ve visited in the order I visited them). Hence, the perpetual cycle of late uploads (posting Fall 2013 Shanghai photos while in Barcelona Winter 2015) or completely unmentioned happenings on my social media platforms.

The task isn’t made simpler when I require organization and accuracy over mere presence and consistency. I often like to complement my content with photos, but my friends know that I take hundreds and thousands of photos, and filtering through them is a chore.

I know there are few that care about my lack of blog updates, and even more that don’t care about the end product being grammatically correct or sequential. Yet I still torture myself with piles of unfinished drafts that must meet my own self-imposed standards of acceptability… that no one else cares about.

For a long time, I’ve struggled with these perfectionist flaws and, for blog’s sake, I shall try to section off time in my schedule to write, and disregard unposted drafts of past times for relevant new content that I find easier to share.

With so much time spent working and living life, it doesn’t leave much time for being so particular about my blog posts.

With that said, I do welcome tips for keeping up with your blog and choosing/saving/uploading photos—while also maintaining a good work-life-blog balance.

Stay tuned for updates; I promised my best friend I would post regularly while abroad 😉

Published by

christinaluu93

UC San Diego grad with a double major in Economics and International Business. I was born and raised in sunny San Diego, but I love to travel (and eat) around the world.

Leave a Reply

